公共项目

思想的食物:用 NESANET TESHAGER ABEGAZE 为金发女郎干杯

2021 年 11 月 16 日
下午 6:30 - 晚上 8:00

与合作

盖蒂研究所

加入企业家、教育家和实验电影制作人 Nesanet Teshager Abegaze,参加一个以讲故事为基础的公共项目,并向编舞和视频艺术家 Blondell Cummings 致敬。

在 Blondell Cummings 的职业生涯中,她创作了一系列名为 思想的食粮.这些作品包括在单个磁带上收集的一系列表演,这些表演代表了卡明斯对食物重要性和特殊性的动态冥想。在卡明斯的许多其他舞蹈作品中,她经常以膳食和食物作为舞蹈的基础,以及他们探索的主题。对于卡明斯来说,食物是她探索自己和他人人生故事的切入点。该系列节目以女性 Korsha Wilson、Jazmin Urrea 和 Nesanet Abegaze 为特色,她们也将食物作为分享故事、文化和理解的一种方式。来自雕塑、电影和写作等多种实践,这三位女性在她们的实践中都同时使用食物和讲故事。在这个节目中,Nesanet 将分享一个故事,她自己的一个或她遇到的一个故事,以最能反映她对食物和讲故事的实践和想法的方式。该计划之后将与 Nesanet 和 A+P 的公共计划和展览经理 Joshua Oduga 以及虚拟计划的参与者进行简短的问答环节。

该节目将于 2021 年 11 月 16 日下午 4:00 作为预先录制的节目通过 A+P 的网站分享。我们将通过 A+P 的 YouTube 页面将该节目与节目系列中的其他节目一起存档,以供将来观看。这意味着欢迎来自世界任何地方的任何有兴趣参加此计划的人,您只需要一个互联网连接!不需要回复。

如果您需要有关未来计划的提醒和信息,请回复 这里.查看该计划的链接将于 2021 年 11 月 16 日通过电子邮件发送给 RSVP 列表中的所有人员。

Filmmaker & Entrepreneur Nesanet Abegaze, 2021.  Photo: Taylor Curtis. Courtesy of Nesanet Abegaze.

扬声器

Nesanet Teshager Abegaze 是一位企业家、教育家和实验电影制片人。 Nesanet 是加利福尼亚州莱默特公园的一家以植物为基础的埃塞俄比亚餐厅 Azla 的共同所有者,这让她能够将自己对食物、社区和讲故事的热情融入到她的日常实践中。

Nesanet 的第一部短片《Bereka》首映并获得了 2019 年 Blackstar 电影节最佳实验电影奖。 Bereka 还在 2020 年圣丹斯电影节和 Ambulante 电影节的 Afrovisiones 节目中正式入选,并在多所大学和艺术展中放映机构。她的短片 Afrikan Space Program Forever 和 Phillis Wheatley 分别于 2020 年和 2021 年在黑星电影节首映。

Nesanet 拥有斯坦福大学人类生物学学士学位和加州大学洛杉矶分校中学科学教育硕士学位,在与母亲 Azla Mekonene 共同创立 Azla 之前,她曾在教育、非营利和娱乐行业工作。

本系列的其他程序

周四 1

艺术家访谈:MARJANI FORTE-SAUNDERS

2021 年 10 月 12 日
下午 6:30 - 晚上 8:00

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

对话:艾略特·里德和约书亚·奥杜加

2021 年 10 月 26 日
下午 6:30 - 晚上 8:00

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

值得思考的食物:与 Korsha Wilson 一起为金发女郎干杯

2021 年 1 月 2 日
下午 6:30 - 晚上 8:00

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

探索档案:展览制作中的档案

2021 年 1 月 3 日
下午 6:30 - 晚上 8:00

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

思想的食物:用茉莉花尿素为金发女郎干杯

2021 年 11 月 9 日
下午 6:30 - 晚上 8:00

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

对话:杰伊·卡隆和约书亚·奥杜加

2021 年 1 月 10 日
下午 6:30 - 晚上 8:00

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

艺术家访谈:LIGIA LEWIS

2021 年 11 月 17 日
下午 6:30 - 晚上 8:00

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

介绍 转录 信息 选择作品 扬声器 其他项目

Public Programs

FOOD FOR THOUGHT: A TOAST TO BLONDELL WITH NESANET TESHAGER ABEGAZE

November 16, 2021
4:00 p.m.

In Collaboration With

The Getty Research Institute

Join entrepreneur, educator, and experimental filmmaker Nesanet Teshager Abegaze for a public program grounded in storytelling and paying homage to choreographer and video artist Blondell Cummings.

During Blondell Cummings’s career she created a series of dance works titled Food for Thought. These works included a suite of performances collected on a single tape that represented Cummings’s kinetic meditation on the importance and specificity of food. In many of Cummings’s other dance works she often used meals and food as the basis for her dances, and the themes they explored. For Cummings, food was an entry point by which she explored not only her own life stories but also those of others. This program series features women, Korsha Wilson, Jazmin Urrea and Nesanet Abegaze, who also use food as a way to share stories, cultures and understanding. Coming from diverse practices like sculpting, film, and writing these three women each use food and storytelling in tandem in their practices. During this program, Nesanet will share a story, one of her own or one she has encountered in a manner that best reflects her practice and thoughts about food and storytelling. The program will be followed by a brief Q&A session with Nesanet and A+P’s Public Programs and Exhibitions Manager Joshua Oduga, and attendees of the virtual program.

This program will be shared via A+P’s Instagram as an Instagram live program on November 16, 2021 at 4:00 PM. We will archive the program along with the others in the program series Food for Thought: A Toast to Blondell via A+P’s YouTube page for future viewing. This means that anyone interested in attending this program from anywhere in the world is welcome, all you need is an internet connection! No RSVP is necessary.

If you would like a reminder and information about future programs, please RSVP HERE. A link to view the program will be emailed to all of those on the RSVP list on November 16, 2021.

Filmmaker & Entrepreneur Nesanet Abegaze, 2021.  Photo: Taylor Curtis. Courtesy of Nesanet Abegaze.

Speakers

Nesanet Teshager Abegaze is an entrepreneur, educator, and experimental filmmaker. Nesanet’s work as the co-owner of Azla, a plant-based Ethiopian restaurant in Leimert Park, California, allows her to combine her passion for food, community, and storytelling into her daily practice.

Nesanet’s first short film, Bereka, premiered and won the Best Experimental Film award at Blackstar Film Festival in 2019. Bereka was also an official selection at the Sundance Film Festival in 2020 and Ambulante Film Festival’s Afrovisiones program, and has screened at various universities and art institutions. Her short films Afrikan Space Program Forever and Phillis Wheatley premiered at the Blackstar Film Festival in 2020 and 2021, respectively.

Nesanet holds a bachelor’s degree in Human Biology from Stanford University, a master’s degree in Secondary Science Education from UCLA, and worked in the education, non-profit, and entertainment industries before co-founding Azla with her mother, Azla Mekonene.

Other Programs in this Series

Tue 12 Oct

ARTIST TALK: MARJANI FORTE-SAUNDERS

October 12, 2021
6:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

This event has passed, WATCH THE ARCHIVED LIVESTREAM

Tue 26 Oct

IN CONVERSATION: ELLIOT REED AND JOSHUA ODUGA

October 26, 2021
6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m.

This event has passed, WATCH THE ARCHIVED LIVESTREAM

Wed 10 Nov
Wed 17 Nov

ARTIST TALK: LIGIA LEWIS

November 17, 2021
6:30 p.m.

Intro Info Select Works Speakers Other Programs